Crusader Basketball


sports
Tim McPhee at the foul line
The oldest of the Christendom sports the men's basketball has a rich history.

The team was begun by a volunteer coach, Coach Dick and was continued afterwards by the Mr. Bob Seale.

Throughout the year the men's team has boasted many fine players and monumental acheivements. With wins over Franciscan University of Stuebenville, Mary Washington College and Shenandoah University the team has acheivedsignificant heights over its history.

Entering his 7th year as head coach, Mr. Chris Vander Woude directs the program which strives to develop individual talent for the success of the team. The team begins informal practices in October beforebefore its first games in mid-November.


Record: 7-12


Date Opponent Location Time
Result
Oct 31 Thur Davis College Johnson City, NY 8pm
41-97
Nov 1 Fr Johnson College Scranton, PA 4pm
39-55
Nov 8 Fri Johnson & Wales Charlotte, NC 7:30pm
58-79
Nov 12 Tue Penn State Mont Alto Front Royal, VA 8pm
36-80
Nov 15 Fri Randolph College Front Royal, VA 5pm
L
Nov 20 Tue Southern Virginia (JV) Front Royal, VA 7pm
W
Nov 23 Sat Maryland Bible College Front Royal, VA 4pm
L
Dec 6 Fri Appalachian Bible College Beckley, WV 8pm
W
Dec 9 Mon Maryland Bible College Baltimore, MD 8pm
Dec 14 Sat Williamson Free School Front Royal, VA 1pm
PPD
       
Jan 24 Fri Lord Fairfax C.C Front Royal, VA 8pm
W
Jan 25 Sat Appalachian Bible College Front Royal, VA 5pm
W
Jan 29 Wed Patrick Henry College Purcellville, VA 7:30m
W
Jan 31 Fri Mid-Atlantic Christian Elizabeth City, NC 6pm
L
Feb 1 Sat Bryn Athyn University Front Royal, VA 5pm
L
Feb 4 Tue Southern Virginia (JV) Buena Vista, VA 7:30pm
L
Feb 5 Wed Davis College Front Royal, VA 5pm  
Feb 7 Fri Mid-Atlantic Christian Front Royal, VA 7pm
L
Feb 15 Sat Williamson Free School Media, PA 1pm
L
Feb 17 Mon Central Penn College Summerdale, PA 8pm
L
Feb 19 Wed Patrick Henry College Front Royal, VA 7:00pm
W
Feb 20 Thur Lord Fairfax CC Front Royal, VA 7:30pm
W

team

2013-14 Roster


Name Year Number Position From
Ryan Tappe So 1 G Pittsburgh, PA
Jeremy Minick So 3 G Asheville, NC
Stephen Foeckler Fr 5 G Manassas, VA
Thomas Hepler Fr 12 G Cranberry, PA
Brian McCrum Sr 15 F Clifton, VA
Conor O'Donnell Sr 20 F Stephens City, VA
Christian Kopeck Sr 21 G Hume, VA
Jon Fioramonti Sr 23 G Manassas, VA
Jake Wagner So 24 F Front Royal, VA
Tim Vander Woude Sr 25 F Nokesville, VA
Joseph Pennefather Fr 30 G Nokesville, VA
Micah Davis Jr 32 F San Antonio, TX
Michael McMahon Fr 33 G Front Royal, VA
John Paul Heisler Fr 44 F Front Royal, VA

 

Chris Vander Woude
Head Coach - 7th Season
Coach Vander Woude is entering his 7th year as the Athletic Director and head men's basketball coach for the Cruaders. Chris played for the Crusaders during his time at Christendom and has been coaching since his graduation from Christendom. Chris strives to build character, discipline and virtue in the members of the crusader sports teams through hardwork and the self-sacrificing that comes with being a member of a team.