College's 35th Anniversary Honorary Dinner Committee Gains New Members

March 12, 2013

Many Cardinals, Bishops, and Catholic luminaries have recently joined the Honorary Dinner Committee for Christendom College's 35th Anniversary Gala dinner on April 6, 2013, at Westfields Marriott Washington Dulles in Chantilly, Virginia.

Cardinal Raymond Burke, Prefect of the Supreme Tribunal of the Apostolic Signatura, will serve as the Chairman of the Committee.

Bishop Paul S. Loverde of Arlington, Bishop David Zubick of Pittsburgh, Virginia's Attorney General Ken Cuccinelli, Archbishop Samuel Aquila of Denver, and Cardinal Francis Arinze are some of the recent additions to the Committee.

Archbishop Samuel J. Aquila

“In the midst of the shifting sands of moral relativism taught in many academic institutions today, Christendom College remains firmly grounded on the Truth of Jesus Christ," writes Archbishop Samuel J. Aquila, Archdiocese of Denver. "I want to particularly commend you for the successful Catholic culture that is evident at Christendom. The faith infuses all aspects of the life of your college community. The mission of the college aims not only at intellectual formation but at the transformation of the whole person in Christ. This goal is notably summarized in one of your advertising slogans, 'Breathe Catholic.' If one truly 'breathes Catholic air' during their college years, they will transform culture and build a Culture of Life in this world.”

Attorney General Ken Cuccinelli

Virginia Attorney General Ken Cuccinelli believes that Christendom's education is "a noble and critically important pursuit at this time in America's history," while Bishop Zubick commends Christendom, noting that its "noble vision to provide a liberal arts education that is devoted to the discovery and appropriation of the True, the Good, and the Beautiful has transformed the landscape of Catholic Higher Education, restoring an understanding of education that affirms true freedom is found in knowing the redeeming Truth of Christ...You all enrich and enliven the Church."

Others who have joined Cardinal Burke on the Honorary Dinner Committee are Senator George Allen, Rev. Robert Barron, Rev. Shenan Boquet, Governor Sam Brownback, Bishop Fabian Bruskewitz, Bishop Robert Carlson, Archbishop Charles Chaput, Bishop Everard de Jong, Archbishop Joseph Di Noia, Cardinal Daniel DiNardo, Cardinal Timothy Dolan, Dr. William A. Donohue, Cardinal Francis George, Dr. Robert George, Mother Assumpta Long, Archbishop William Lori, Mr. Patrick Madrid, Bishop John Nienstedt, Cardinal Edwin O'Brien, Bishop David O'Connell, Bishop Kevin Rhoades, Bishop David Ricken, Rev. George Rutler, and Bishop Michael Sheridan.

The Gala dinner, which will be emceed by a former original "Mouseketeer" of the Mickey Mouse Club, Sherry Van Meter, is open to friends, benefactors, students, and alumni. Visit for more information.

Share this story: