On September 4, Pope John Paul II named Dr. William E. May, professor of Moral Theology at Christendom College’s Notre Dame Graduate School, as one of 21 new consultors for the Vatican’s Congregation for Clergy. Included in this number were two US bishops: Archbishop Daniel Buechlein of Indianapolis, Indiana, and Bishop Raymond Burke of La Crosse, Wisconsin.

Also among the new consultors are priests of various orders, including the Priestly Fraternity of the St. Charles Borromeo Missionaries, the Opus Dei Personal Prelature, and the Legionaries of Christ, and instructors and professors at seminaries and pontifical universities.

According to the Vatican’s website, the Congregation for Clergy has three distinct duties. First, it suggests and promotes initiatives for the holiness and intellectual and pastoral renewal of the clergy (diocesan priests and deacons), and for their permanent formation.

Second, it is also responsible for the religious formation of the faithful of all ages (catechesis). And third, is responsible for the preservation and administration of the Church’s temporal assets, in particular the remuneration and health care of the clergy.

His Eminence, Dario Cardinal Castrillon-Hoyos serves as Prefect for the Congregation.

Share via
Copy link