Christendom College is pleased to announce that Reverend Benedict Groeschel, C.F.R. and Senator Sam Brownback (R-KS) will be joining the 90 members of the Class of 2005 for commencement exercises over the weekend of May 13-15, 2005.

groeschelFr. Groeschel will offer the Baccalaureate Mass on Friday, May 13, after which he will be awarded an Honorary Doctorate from College President Dr. Timothy O’Donnell.

Fr. Groeschel is loved around the world for his bold and powerful witness to the Gospel. For many years Fr. Groeschel has tirelessly worked with the poor and needy, spoken to tens of thousands of Catholics, and written numerous articles and books. In May 1987 he founded, with eight other friars, the community of the Franciscan Friars of the Renewal, dedicated to preaching reform within the Church and caring for the homeless in the South Bronx and Harlem sections of New York City, as well as in London and Honduras.

Fr. Groeschel has appeared on EWTN numerous times and has written many books, including – Arise From Darkness: What to Do When Life Doesn’t Make Sense, The Reform of Renewal, Rosary: The Chain of Hope, Still Small Voice: A Practical Guide on Reported Revelations, and Praying To Our Lord Jesus Christ: Prayers and Meditations Through the Centuries.

On Saturday, May 14, the republican United States Senator from Kansas Sam Brownback will deliver the Commencement Address and will be awarded with Christendom College’s Pro Deo et Patria Medal for Distinguished Service to God and Country for his tireless work on behalf of the unborn.

brownback Senator Brownback, a possible 2008 republican presidential candidate, is unequivocally pro-life, against human cloning, and was a leading proponent of the Federal Marriage Amendment to define marriage to be between one man and one woman. Read his comments on this subject from an issue of National Review Online.

He and his wife Mary have five children, Abby, Andy, Elizabeth, Mark, and Jenna, and live in Topeka.

The 89 undergraduates receiving B.A. degrees include:

Mary Accettullo, Zachary Akers, Victor Alcantara, Adrienne Alessandro, Helen Almeter, Paul Almeter, Marie Antunes, James Blankenship, Alec Bradshaw, Adeline Buckley, Eryka Bukowski, Alexandria Chiasson, Christine Coy, William Davulis, Christina Denton, William Diem, Mary Grace Fallon, Angela Ferri, John Fier, Ashley Filiault, Megan Fraser, Ida Friemoth, Kenneth Furlong, Angela Gaetano, Margaret Ginski, Zachary Gossin, Mary Hack, Daniel Heenan, Elizabeth Henderson, Michael Hilleary, Catherine Jenkins, David Kelly, Rachel Lancour, Mark Leopold, Philip Loegering, Laurence Lombardi, Nicole Luca, Kyle McAtee, Andrew McDonald, Michael McGlynn, Michael McSheffrey, Emily Meeks, Leo Meere, Patricia Metzger, Jacob Meza, Nicole Miller, Mara Mirus, Michael Moore, Jessica Morgan, Siobhan O’Connor, Julia Peterson, Rachel Piron, Lorraine Podlinsek, Kelly Poe, Joseph Powell, Robert Quartararo, Katherine Quest, Elizabeth Rice, Mark Riddle, Emily Rose, Katrina Ruminski, Sharon Scanlon, Anna Schiavone, Kateri Schmidt, Alex Scrivener, Jeremy Sheiko, Richard Shipley, Breton Smith, Brittany Smith, Anthony Smitha, Philip Soergel, Charles Spiering, Elizabeth Stephens, Timothy Storey, Justin Stover, Trevor Sullivan, Rita Traugott, Mollie Tschida, Patrick VanderWoude, Brandon Vaughan, David Wallace, Jacinta Whittaker, Heather Wier, Laura Williams, Thomas Williams, Anne Wolpert, Daniel Wright, Alexander Young, and Elizabeth Young.

One Associate of Arts degree will be conferred on Joshua Long.

Share via
Copy link