omalleyChristendom College is pleased to announce that His Eminence Seán Patrick Cardinal O’Malley and Ralph McInerny will be joining the 97 members of the Class of 2008 for commencement exercises over the weekend of May 9-11, 2008.

Cardinal O’Malley will offer the Baccalaureate Mass on Friday, May 9 and will be awarded an Honorary Doctorate from College President Dr. Timothy O’Donnell the following day.

Cardinal O’Malley is an American prelate of the Roman Catholic Church. He currently serves as the Archbishop of Boston, and was elevated to Cardinal in 2006 by Pope Benedict XVI. O’Malley is also a member of the Order of Friars Minor Capuchin, more commonly known as the Capuchins.

michele-(dawson)-charbaHe attended the Capuchin College in Washington, D.C., and The Catholic University of America, where he is now a member of the Board of Trustees. He graduated from CUA with a master’s degree in religious education and a Ph.D. in Spanish and Portuguese literature. In 1988, O’Malley attended the Commencement Exercises at Christendom College. In 1998 John Paul II appointed O’Malley to the Special Assembly for Oceania of the Synod of Bishops.

On Saturday, May 10, Ralph McInerny, the Michael P. Grace professor of medieval studies at Notre Dame University, will deliver the Commencement Address and will be awarded with Christendom College’s Pro Deo et Patria Medal for Distinguished Service to God and Country.

rmcinerny02Ralph McInerny heads the Jacques Maritain Center at Notre Dame. He helped found Crisis  and Catholic Dossiermagazines, and has written frequently for both.

A specialist in the philosophy of St. Thomas Aquinas, he has written and edited 22 books about Thomistic and other medieval philosophies. In addition, he has written more than 60 novels, including the well-known Father Dowling mystery series. He has also published several books on Catholic spiritual topics, including What Went Wrong With Vatican II.

The 95 undergraduates receiving B.A. degrees include:

Becket Adams, Elli Ampi, Mary Beth Baker, Daniel Baron, Jackie Belle-Oudry, Meghan Beller, Sarah Berger, Seth Brotherton, Rand Brown, Cassidy Bugos, David Bushey, Elizabeth Carducci, Tim Cavazos, Mary Anne Clarke, John Connolly, Sophie Coy, Sarah Daley, Elizabeth  Doherty, Paul English, Jane Finlay, Katie Fitzpatrick, Sarah Flamminio, Kathryn Ford, Maria Ford, Kak Freeman, Amy Germann, Kyle Greene, Karissa Gubash, Dan Gutschke, Ryan Hechinger, Dan Henson, Joseph Hichborn, Nikole Hill, Stephanie Howe, Jordan Hudson, Zach Inman, John Jalsevac, Sheila Jenné, Allison Kavanagh, Agnes King, Bernard King, Bridget Kopec, Caitlin Kunath, Bobby Lancaster, Jennifer Martin, Lou Massett, Joe Mazzara, Tyler McAtee, Erin McCafferty, Kat McKinnon, Angela McNeely, Adam McSheffrey, Colleen Mead, Katherine Melton, Emily Mersch, Veronica Miller, Joe Molitor, Greg Monroe, Noah Morey, Flannery O’Connor, Bridget  O’Donnell, Therese O’Herron, Thérèse Oligny, Sam Phillips, Eric Pilegaard, Jen Poston, Grace Pregent, Paul Provencher, Patrick Quest, Andrea Read, Claire Riggio, David Rodríguez, Matt Rose, Olivia Ruhl, Caitrie Santicola, Robert Schmid, Richard Scrivener, Dominick Severance, Laura Shrader, Chris Smith, Daniel Smith, Anne Stephens, Andrew Stine, Anna Svendsen, Beth Thrun,  Catherine Trojack, Emily Twaddle, Sean Vieira, Megan Von Ehr, Joan Walsh, Draper Warren, Sydney Whitmyer, Micah Willard, Meredith Wilson, Meredith Wise

Two Associate of Arts degree will be conferred on Rebecca Loth and Rosemary Scheetz.

Share via
Copy link