commence-hat-toss-2Christendom College will celebrate Commencement Weekend on May 15-17, honoring the historic one-hundred and two members of this year’s graduating class with Bachelor of Arts degrees. Renowned author, and Catholic luminary, Alice von Hildebrand will give the commencement address at this year’s ceremony, while the Most Reverend Paul S. Loverde, Bishop of the Diocese of Arlington, Va., will be the main celebrant and homilist for the Baccalaureate Mass. Both will be recognized and honored with awards at the ceremony on May 16.

Over a thousand guests will join the Christendom community in celebrating the achievements of the Class of 2015, which will mark the thirty-sixth graduating class in the history of Christendom College. The one hundred and two members of the Class of 2015 exceed the former largest graduating class – the Class of 2012 – by two students.

At the commencement ceremony on May 16, Dr. von Hildebrand will be awarded the St. Catherine of Siena award before delivering her address to the graduating class.

“Dr. von Hildebrand has been a great defender of our Catholic faith and all that is true, good, and beautiful. Her life has been filled with a powerful witness to the truth of faith and natural reason, and she has dedicated her life to Christ and His Church. I cannot think of a more worthy recipient of the college’s Catherine of Siena award,” says college president Dr. Timothy O’Donnell.

Bishop Loverde will be the main celebrant and homilist for the Baccalaureate Mass on May 15, before being bestowed with an honorary doctorate at the commencement ceremonies on May 16.

“Bishop Loverde has been a great friend and supporter of the educational mission of Christendom College over the years. His leadership of the Catholic Diocese of Arlington has been truly inspirational and marked by a joyful fidelity to the Church and Her teaching mission,” says O’Donnell. “It will be a tremendous joy and honor to welcome him to our commencement and bestow on him the College’s honorary doctorate of humane letters.”

One-hundred and two bachelor of arts degrees will be awarded to Susanne Adams, Luis Adan, Katherine Arnold, Mary Barbale, Joseph Bond, Maria Bonvissuto, Emily Bot, Katherine Brizek, Evan Casey, Gabrielle Cintorino, James Ciskanik, Kevin Clark, Teresa Cory, Robert Crnkovich, Antonia Cummings, Rocina Daez, Micah Davis, Kimberly Day, Noah De La Cruz, Peter Deucher, Catherine Devanny, Maryann Doughty, Clare Duda, Elizabeth Easterday, John Federline, Marissa Feiring, Nancy Feuerborn, Peter Foeckler, James Fox, Midori Funai, Emilia Fusco, Kevin Galbraith, Justin Gilbert, Philip Gilbert, Joseph Gonzalez, Kelsey Gordon, Nicholas Gossin, Mary Gurtowski, Rosemary Hedge, Michael Heffernan, Andrew Hepler, Rose Herlihy, Joseph Herman, Ann Hess, Stephen Hyland, John Jackson, Sarah Jamieson, Darren Johnson, Margaret Killackey, Brigid King, Hal Kokes Jr., Michael Kopp, Claire Kosten, Mary La Fave, Matthew Marchand, Matthew Marcolini, Noah Matzen, Thomas Maurer, Daniel McDowell, Patrick McKenna, Julie McMahon, Stephen Menard, Julie Mersch, Andre Moreau, Gabrielle Muskett, Rebecca Neltner, Timothy Nodar, Sarah Nutter, Grace O’Reilly, Maggie Ostrowski, Leif Pilegaard, Karolyn Pondo, Brian Rankin, Jane Riccardi, Galilee Riggio, Amelia Ritzenthaler, Peter Romanchuk, Bernadette Sartor, Jessica Schmitz, Maggie Schuberg, Catherine Scotto, Joshua Scotto, Elizabeth Slaten, David Smith, Stephen Snyder, Roseanne Spiering, Veronica Stanton, Peter Stephens, Lindsay Trapp, Stephen Treacy, Katherine Turner, Mark Turner, Joshua Van Hecke, Joseph Walsh, Julie Wells, Adrienne Willard, Rebecca Willen, Jessie Williams, Alexis Witiak, Melody Wood, Laura Wynne, and Thomas Yarnell.

Since its first graduation ceremony in 1980, Christendom College has continually honored outstanding individuals who have rendered faithful service to the Church and nation, and whose lives can be emulated by the graduates and the college community.  Former commencement speakers have included Fr. John Hardon, S.J., Dr. Russell Kirk, Sean Cardinal O’Malley, Governor Sam Brownback, Dr. Charles Rice, George Cardinal Pell, Patrick Buchanan, Mother Agnes Mary Donovan, S.V., and others.

For more information on this year’s Commencement, please visit here.

Share via
Copy link