commencement-2016-announe-1Christendom College will honor its 37th graduating class during Commencement Weekend, May 13-15. Acclaimed author and historian Dr. James Hitchcock will give the commencement address at this year’s ceremony, while Edwin Cardinal O’Brien, Grand Master of the Equestrian Order of the Holy Sepulchre of Jerusalem, will be the main celebrant and homilist for the Baccalaureate Mass. Both will be recognized and honored with awards at the ceremony on May 14.

The college will welcome nearly a thousand guests to its Front Royal, Va., campus beginning on Friday afternoon, as they celebrate the achievements of the Class of 2016 with a Baccalaureate Mass, followed by an elegant dinner and dance featuring a live swing orchestra. On Saturday, Hitchcock will be awarded the college’s Queen Isabel Catholic Vision of History Award, before delivering his address to the graduating class.

“Dr. James Hitchcock has for decades faithfully served Christ and His Church in numerous ways, particularly as an historian. He is an excellent example to all of us of scholarship in the service of the faith. He has been a good friend of Christendom College over the years and we are delighted to honor his service with the college’s Queen Isabel award for achievement in the field of history,” says college president Dr. Timothy O’Donnell.

commencement-2016-announe-2O’Donnell will also bestow and honorary doctorate on Cardinal O’Brien at the ceremony.

“Cardinal O’Brien has been a great friend of Christendom College for many years. He blessed our newly constructed St. John the Evangelist Library on the day of its dedication in 2004. He has met with Christendom pilgrims when we travel to Rome, and he has inspired countless souls in the Eternal City, the Holy Land, and around the world in his position as the Grand Master of the Equestrian Order of the Holy Sepulchre of Jerusalem. It will be a tremendous honor to welcome him back to our campus, and to bestow on him the college’s honorary doctorate,” says O’Donnell.

Seventy-two bachelor of arts degrees will be awarded to Anne Adams, Patrick Audino, Kinsey Benz, Peter Blank, Mary Blicharz, Dominic Borchers, Anne Ciskanik, Clare Dempsey, Monica Dilworth, Jordan Eidle, Cecilia Flagg, Duncan Forsythe, Rebecca Francis, Andrew Garcia, Sarah Greydanus, John Hebert, Sarah Hein, Patrick Hilleary, Jacob Hiserman, Mary Hoff, Nicholas Jaroma, Robert Johnson, Corinne Kavanagh, Kaitlin Kelley, Maria Klosterman, Rebekah Koerner, Magdalene Kopeck, Mary Lancaster, Emily (Norton) LaRochelle, Austin Leavitt, Elise Litterio, Cecily Lowe, Melissa Lucas, Amy Marter, Catherine McFadden, Robert McKay, Bridget McMahon, Miriam McShurley, Carol Lynn Miller, Michelle Miller, Jeremy Minick, Nicholas Murphy, Kayla Newcomb, Mary O’Reilly, Rebecca Ortega, Mary Clare Pilon, Emily Raabe, June Redman, Maryann Riccardi, Elisabeth Roberts, Julia Rollino, Pete Ruhl, Sean Salmon, Michaela Sanborn, Allison Schmitz, Catherine Schneider, Sean Shanahan, Sarah Slaten, John David Speer, William Stamper, William Tomlinson, Bradley Torline, Mary Townsend, Jacob Wagner, Therese Weber, Eileen Weichert, Magdalena Whittaker, Elisabeth Willson, Veronica Wilson, Mary Woytych, James Wright, and Madeleine (Deighan) Zinman. One associate of arts degree will be awarded to Stephen Miller.

For more information on this year’s Commencement, please visit here.

Share via
Copy link