Christendom College honored a number of its prized students at its annual awards luncheon on May 2, honoring the exceptional academic and community building achievements of select seniors graduating with the Class of 2018.

Winner of the Joe McGlynn Award, John Paul Cook.

The Student Activities Council’s (SAC) Joe McGlynn Award for Service was given to John Paul Cook. Demonstrating significant leadership and hard work behind the scenes at over sixty college events, Cook exemplified the selfless giving spirit that is a trademark of Christendom’s SAC — one of the most active in the nation.

Winner of the Caitlin Bowers Award, Chloe Herrmann.

Student body president Chloe Herrmann was awarded the college’s Caitlin Bowers Award for Service, for her selfless giving back to the college community during her four years at Christendom.

Winner of the Robert C. Rice Award, Morgan Witt.

Six of the college’s academic departments honored seniors with awards.  The English department’s Robert C. Rice Award for Outstanding English Language and Literature Major was awarded to Morgan Witt, one of the college’s two Padre Pio Full-Tuition Scholarship winners from her class. She distinguished herself by revealing outstanding scholarship, collegiality, and written success. Her thesis topic, “Is the Shipwreck then a Harvest?”: A Comparative Study of the Lives and Poetry of G.M. Hopkins and A.C. Swinburne, is a prime example of her outstanding work.

Winner of the Outstanding Philosophy Major Award, John Martz.

For the philosophy department’s Outstanding Senior Philosophy Major Award, department chairman Dr. John Cuddeback recognized John Martz, who will be entering the Dominicans following graduation. Martz, who also minored in theology and classical and early Christian studies, wrote on Ego in tempora dissilui: An Augustinian Critique of Heideggerian Temporality.

Winner of the Warren Carroll Award, George Summers (in absentia, accepted by Dr. Brendan McGuire)

The history department’s Warren H. Carroll Award for Outstanding Senior History Thesis was given to George Summers, who was already awarded a Ph.D. fellowship to study history at Saint Louis University starting this fall. His thesis Pastoral Criticism and Ecclesial Unity in Guibert of Nogent’s Gesta Dei per Francos, exemplified the historical scholarship standard set by Christendom’s founder, Dr. Warren Carroll.

Winner of the William Marshner Award, Jack Lake.

Jack Lake was awarded the theology department’s William H. Marshner Award for his thesis titled Mater Gratiae, Mater Misericordiae: A Systematic Rejoinder to the Calvinist Polemicist Keith Thompson Concerning the Intercession, Invocation, Universal Mediation of Grace, and Cultus or Veneration of the Most Holy Mother of God. Lake also minored in classical and early Christian studies.

Winner of the Outstanding Senior Political Science & Economics Thesis Award, William Skuba.

The political science and economics department awarded William Skuba the department’s Outstanding Senior Political Science & Economics Thesis Award for his thesis, Work: The Basis of Culture. Skuba, who married this past spring, is currently working as the director of marketing for Enable Web Design.

Winner of the Outstanding Achievement in Latin Award, Luke Maschue.

Finally, Luke Maschue was awarded the classics department’s Outstanding Achievement in Latin Award, and Emma Wynne was awarded the Outstanding Achievement in Greek Award.

Winner of the Outstanding Achievement in Greek Award, Emma Wynne.

The annual awards luncheon is held to recognize the best and brightest of each graduating class at Christendom College, acknowledging their academic and leadership achievements before the entire Christendom community.

Share via
Copy link