Christendom College honored some of its prized students at the annual awards luncheon, held in the St. Lawrence Commons on May 1.

The Student Activities Council’s (SAC) Joe McGlynn Award for Service was given to Michael LaRochelle. Demonstrating leadership and hard work on hundreds of college events, most importantly Christmas Formal, LaRochelle exemplified the selfless giving spirit that is a trademark of Christendom’s SAC.

The Crusader Leadership Award was given to Tim Marra, Celina Albisu, Ben Dunphy, and Pete Day for their exemplary contributions to the college’s athletics department. Each was an important leader both on and off the field during their time at Christendom, leaving behind an impressive legacy that includes a National Championship title, multiple USCAA All-American and All-Academic honors, All-Star team selections, and several school athletic records.

Five of the college’s academic departments also honored seniors with awards.

The English department’s Robert C. Rice Award for Outstanding English Language and Literature Major was awarded to Mercy Gjolberg, a National Merit Scholarship finalist who distinguished herself through outstanding scholarship, collegiality, and written success. Her thesis topic, The Concept of Feminine Heroism in Young Girl’s Literature, is a prime example of her outstanding work.

For the philosophy department’s Outstanding Senior Philosophy Major Award, department chairman Dr. John Cuddeback recognized Genevieve La Fave, who wrote on Quantum Indeterminism and Aristotelian Prime Matter: How Quantum Theory Supports the Design Argument.

The history department’s Warren H. Carroll Award for Outstanding Senior History Thesis was given to Milanna Fritz, who will be teaching in Spain following graduation. Her thesis Springs Instead of Souls: Incompatible Ideologies in Soviet World War II Propaganda, exemplified the historical scholarship standard set by Christendom’s founder, Dr. Warren Carroll. Fritz also majored in theology.

National Merit Scholarship Finalist Jacqueline Durant was awarded the theology department’s William H. Marshner Award for her thesis titled “Optimo Contemplabili et Agibili”: The Integration of the Contemplative and Active Lives According to Thomas Aquinas.

The political science and economics department awarded Laura Cermak, a National Merit Scholarship the department’s Outstanding Senior Political Science & Economics Thesis Award for her thesis, Free Market, Fair Market: Whether America should Limit Income Inequality. Cermak, who also minored in philosophy and classical and early Christian studies, is set to work at Saffron Ventures after graduation.

The annual awards luncheon is held to recognize the best and brightest of each graduating class at Christendom College, acknowledging their academic and leadership achievements before the entire Christendom community.

Share via
Copy link